In this article by the BBC, it is explained how one Instagram account had been deleted but was not deleted when it should have been. The social media giant did not receive a report from Instagram users and as a result, they were unable to delete the account.
What to do when you want to delete your Instagram account
If you want to delete your Instagram account, it will take several reports from different users before the account is permanently deleted. Instagram requires that user reports be submitted within two hours of each other and that the reports must include clear evidence that the user has violated the terms of service.
How to find out how many reports it takes to delete your Instagram account
If you’re looking to get your Instagram account deleted, it will likely take between 2 and 5 reports. However, there’s no definitive answer to this question since Instagram’s reporting system is automated and relies on user input.
To begin the process of getting your account deleted, you’ll first need to log in and go to the “Account” section. Here, you’ll be able to see all of the reports that have been made against your account (as well as any pending reports).
Once you’ve identified the report(s) that you want to remove, follow these simple steps:
What is an Instagram Block List?
A block list is a list of Instagram users that a user has chosen to not follow. When a user follows someone on Instagram, their account is added to the user’s block list. This prevents that person from following the user back and also blocks that person’s posts from being shown in the user’s feed.
If you want to delete an Instagram account, it will likely take multiple reports from different people. The social media platform has a “block list” that’s meant to help users avoid trolls and bad actors on the platform. However, the blocking process is automated and can sometimes result in false positives.
Instagram is a popular social media platform that allows users to share photos and videos of their everyday lives. Unfortunately, sometimes these posts can be detrimental to the user’s image, or worse yet, embarrassing. If you decide that you no longer want your Instagram account and want to delete it, it typically takes fewer than five reports from other users before your account is deleted. Be sure to keep track of the reports your account has received so that you can make an informed decision about whether or not to keep it.